Ten Best New Abstract Paintings

March 29, 2013

Looking across the internet at numerous artists’ websites we conducted a search for the ten best new abstract paintings available.  The idea here is to exhibit the work of living, dedicated and accomplished abstract painters.  We found a great variety of styles and fine work from which to choose.  The list is presented here in alphabetical order by artist’s last name.  The image of each abstract painting is linked to the artist’s website.

 

Robondo in  Congress Brad Bannister 18x14 ac abstract painter

 “Robondo in Congress” by Brad Bannister

18″ x 14″ Acrylic on Canvas

“I would say that I have been rather eclectic in my approach to abstract painting, usually working within the boundaries of nonobjective presentation.”

Moonlight and Chaos abstract painting Sieglinde Battley 101x102 oc

 “Moonlight and Chaos” by Sieglinde Battley

101cm x 102cm  Oil on Canvas

“I paint what I see, hear, feel and think every day and at night. I make up stories about this concoction and put it on paper and canvas. I often depict animals in my paintings because they live where I live. These creatures end up sharing the idiosyncrasies of friends, family, business associates and neighbours and they become symbols of my own fears, hopes and desires as well. Often I am surprised what looks back at me from my canvas. These accidents I love most because they might not be so accidental after all.”

rites-of-spring Filomena Booth 44x44 ac abstract painting

“Rites of Spring” by Filomena Booth

44″ x 44″  Acrylic on Canvas

“Filomena considers herself an experimental abstract expressionist artist.  Her paintings often begin with thin washes of paint followed by layered glazes of color. The addition of collage materials, texture, and metallics may be used to enhance the composition as it slowly emerges from the canvas.  The process involves the gradual buildup of many layers of color and texture to create the final image.”

 

Cliff Hanger Valerie Brennan 40x35 oap abstract artist

“Cliff Hanger” by Valerie Brennan

40cm x 35cm Oil and Acrylic on Panel

“Using heavily textured application of vivid and contrasting color this artist produces surprisingly inviting abstract paintings.”

celebrate Merlin Emrys 40x30 ac abstract artist

“Celebrate” by Merlin Emrys

40″ x 30″  Acrylic on Canvas

“My paintings, because they are abstract, are essentially energy made visible. They are an exploration of the interplay between form and formlessness, emergence and dissolution, using color, texture, and the strokes of the palette knife upon the canvas.”

 

abstract painting Maudy 101x76 acryl coll canvas

“Un ete’ a la campagne”  by Christine Maudy

101cm x 76 cm  Acrylic and Collage on Canvas

“I consider myself an Impressionist abstract painter. My aim when I work is to express my memories of a place. I don’t limit myself to what I have seen but I also try to connect to how I felt, what was the interaction of the place on my psyche, on my feelings.  I work from within letting all the elements I have been gathering come back and I translate these ‘impressions’ in geometrical shapes, lines, scratches, brush marks, texture, collage and colour.”

Shawn McNulty pink abstract art painting 24x24 ac pumice grapefruit

 “Grapefruit” by Shawn McNulty

24″ x 24″  Acrylic and Pumice on Canvas

“My style explores the relationship between man-made structures and the natural world; the idea of recognizable shapes and structures living within irrational thoughts and emotions.  A dialogue is created with the painting, and it starts to show me what needs to be done. Thick layers of acrylic and pumice and are applied, scraped off, reapplied, sliced off, etc.  The process continues until a solution is found . . .”

Linda Norris campion fields 19x19 op abstract painting

“Campion Fields” by Linda Norris

19cm x 19cm  Oil on Paper

“All my work is inspired by the ever-changing light and the rich textures and colours of the landscape around me.   It is that feeling of getting lost in an activity, in creating something, that comes back to me now when I`m working in the studio.”

River 18 David Tycho 48x36 ac abstract painter

“River #18″ by David Tycho

48″ x 36″  Acrylic on Canvas

“My goal is to create an image filled with vitality and stated in as few brush strokes as required.  I’ve found that once the inexplicably ‘correct’ strokes have been executed (often after numerous failures) petting or tidying the paintings only detracts from their vigor. Paint inherently runs, drips and bleeds, and I find much of the expressive potential and beauty in this very fact.”

Moon Tides Kerrie Warren 140cm x 240cm

“Moon Tides” by Kerrie Warren

140cm x 240cm  Acrylic on Linen

“My aim as an Abstract Expressionist is to bypass self-censoring thought and allow myself to be influenced by layers beneath the surface. I enter the studio without a preconceived idea and trust in the process itself. Mark follows mark, a rhythm is inspired and I become fully absorbed ‘in the moment’.”

This list of the ten best new abstract paintings offers a good bit of variety in artistic style.  From partial to full abstraction to non objective compositions, each work shows great design and quality of expression.  We hope you will enjoy the work on display at all of the artists’ websites.

- Daniel Ferris

4 Responses to “Ten Best New Abstract Paintings”


  1. Your abstract painting is cool… :D I like it.


  2. Thanks for sharing the top abstract paintings on the web. It’s always great to see new and interesting artists show their creativity through abstract. Great post!

  3. Manni Says:

    I am very fond of abstract painting. Though on looking at it it appears to be easy like a few strokes of brush in lots of color. But if you yurself desire to make an abstract painting, it is difficult since there is no concrete and visual picture in your mind of it. I open u tube to watch various artist’s sbstracts and look at them. they make the picture in a slurry of a moment and i wish i could be one of them. still i remain hopeful that someday i shall be able to make mysterious abstracts. AMEN


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

